Why SEO and CRO Are the Perfect Marketing Mix

Rankings are gradually increasing.

And traffic is steadily on the rise.

All thanks to your digital marketing efforts.

The goal for any SEO campaign is to increase rankings in the search results. But often business owners and marketers get caught up on where their sites are ranking that they overlook perhaps the most important metric: conversions. Even if your site is number one for your target keywords, what good are those rankings if they do not generate any sales?

Simply ranking at the top of the search results is no guarantee that sales will follow. Traffic may increase but visitors may decide not to buy or click the back button to a competing website. Either scenario means no sales for your business so you need to find out why visitors are not purchasing and how to get them to buy.

This is where Conversion Rate Optimisation (CRO) comes in.

Whereas SEO focuses on increasing search engine traffic, CRO focuses on converting those visitors into customers. It involves making changes to various aspects of a site (e.g. headlines, layouts, etc.), running constant tests, and measuring the results. Even a simple tweak can dramatically improve conversions, driving even more sales to your business in the process.

It goes without saying that SEO and CRO complement each other well. One brings in targeted traffic from the search engines while the other works on converting those visitors.

The following shows how SEO and CRO are a perfect marketing mix:

  • Keyword research: Keyword research is one aspect of SEO. This involves identifying keywords that your target audience is searching for and conducting competitive analysis. These keywords are then used to optimise a landing page to rank higher in the search results. CRO can determine which keywords in a marketing campaign generate the highest return. This allows you to allocate your marketing budget accordingly.
  • Landing pages: Landing pages are perhaps the most valuable page on your site as they provide more details about your products and services. SEO ranks these pages for their target keywords in Google. CRO brings more conversions from those pages by optimising the copy and measuring the results.
  • Web design: SEO optimises various aspects of a site to rank it in the search results. This includes making it more user friendly so visitors can find exactly what they are looking for. CRO takes it a step further by making a number of design changes and measuring the impact on conversions. Some changes will remain while others will be discarded depending on the results.

SEO and CRO can make your site practically unstoppable in the search results.

But you cannot simply have one without the other. You might be ranking for competitive keywords but it won’t matter if visitors are buying. Likewise, you could have a high converting page but sales will be abysmal if that page doesn’t rank for its target keyword. Both must work together harmoniously to maximise results and increase revenues.

Still not convinced?

Here we look at the five biggest reasons to implement CRO into your marketing strategy.

1. More Customers

Business owners ultimately want more sales of their products or services.

Most will turn to marketing strategies to drive more traffic to their landing pages. These may include search engine marketing, PPC advertising, and social media advertising. But business owners often overlook the optimisation aspect of their site. Traffic won’t matter if it doesn’t convert.

Continuous optimisation ultimately leads to more customers.

Optimising your site means understanding your customers which leads to a better browsing experience. For example, if changing the headline of a paging land results in more conversions, then you understand what offers engage your visitors and make them buy. In the process you would be bringing in more visitors with the same amount of traffic.

2. Increases Website Profits

More sales translate to more profits.

Even something as seemingly minor as a new button or a layout change can have a major impact on profits. It helps to look at an example to better illustrate the point. Assume you have 100 visitors to a landing page and only 5% make a purchase at $20 and the product cost is $10.

  • Gross sales: $100
  • Cost: $50
  • Profit: $50

Let’s look at another scenario where conversions go up from 5% to 10%. Here is what the numbers look like:

  • Gross sales: $200
  • Cost: $100
  • Profit: $100

Doubling your conversion rate (entirely possible with constant optimisation) doubles your profits as well.

3. Leverages Current Website Traffic

Improving conversions can essentially double website profits.

One of the biggest advantages is that it works with the same amount of traffic that your pages are already receiving. Once your landing pages are optimised, SEO and other marketing efforts can bring in even more traffic. This is why CRO is so valuable as it maximises conversions for each page.

But it’s important to remember that your pages still need sufficient traffic. If your pages barely receive any traffic it would be difficult to do split testing and measure the results. Consider implementing CRO once your pages receive more traffic.

4. Lowers Customer Acquisition Costs

Acquisition costs refers to how much it costs on average to bring in a customer.

This number is particularly valuable for PPC advertising campaigns. With Google AdWords you pay for each click to your landing pages. Your campaign will fail to generate a return if it costs too much to acquire new customers. CRO helps to lower customer acquisition costs as you are constantly optimising for conversions.

If you spend $500 to drive 5,000 visitors to your product and 500 end up purchasing your product (10% conversion rate), your average customer acquisition cost would be $1.

But what happens if you improve that conversion rate to 15%?

Instead of 500 purchases, you would now have 750 and your customer acquisition cost goes down to $0.66. The higher your conversions, the lower your acquisition costs which means more money to allocate elsewhere.

5. Stronger Competitive Advantage

There is no doubt about it.

CRO delivers a major competitive advantage.

Even if other businesses are outranking yours in the search results, your website could still end up generating more sales. All it takes is a better offer to win a customer over. But the competition won’t know how to better position their products or services if they are not optimising their pages and measuring the results.

Conclusion

Even if your site is bringing in thousands of visitors a day, you have a problem if there are barely any conversions. This is why CRO is such an important strategy as it aims to find out why visitors are bouncing out and how to convert that traffic. Combined with SEO your site will be a powerhouse.